Cinepub


Review: Mrs Brown’s Boys D’ Movie by Jamie

If you want me to relay to you what watching Mrs Brown’s Boys D’ Movie is like then imagine a boot stamping on a pair of testicles forever. Full disclosure, I have never seen the series that this movie is based on so I went into this knowing pretty much next to nothing apart from what the trailer told me. And that trailer left quite an impression. What stuck out to me most was the fact that there was an outtake, an actual outtake, in the trailer. This, of course, makes absolutely no sense but fine, I thought, it’s some stupid little joke for the trailer. Put it out of your mind and try and judge this movie fairly.

Then part way through an HILARIOUS scene where blind people are being taught ninjitsu and the man who plays Mrs Brown is playing another character, Mr Wang (“But he’s not even Chinese!” Complains one of the characters, which is fine since neither is ninjitsu.), the actors start cracking up. Holy shit. An outtake in the actual movie itself. Not during the credits, not as some DVD extra but during the actual plot of the actual movie. Then there were two more outtakes, just there in the movie as well. Who thinks this is a good idea? Were they so worried that people wouldn’t laugh at the film so they’d have to laugh at it themselves?

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate breaking the fourth wall but there are ways to go about it that work. For example, the Wayne’s World movies break the fourth wall regularly and to hilarious effect. That is carefully crafted, well done comedy. Outtakes are literally the opposite of that and leaving them in the actual movie is the laziest choice a filmmaker can make.

Still, they needn’t have worried about people not finding it funny because people in my screening were pissing themselves laughing. Laughing at the fact that blind people can’t see. Laughing at the Asian character who can’t pronounce Ls properly. Laughing at all this tired, ancient bullshit.

This is definitely a call back to British sitcoms of the past. The problem is that I can’t figure out what. Every sitcom from back in the day that I try to compare it to is much, much better than it. ‘Allo ‘Allo? Better. Some Mothers Do ‘Ave ‘Em? Better. Steptoe and Son? Better. I mean, I think we’re literally in the territory of Heil Honey, I’m Home in terms of being just relentlessly, offensively unfunny. This is a throwback to the lowest form of humour, the basest, crassest form that I thought we as a society had moved beyond. I thought things like Seinfeld and The Office had revolutionised the sitcom. How have we found ourselves back here? It’s literally like someone saw the parody of bad sitcoms, When The Whistle Blows, from Extras and thought “Let’s make our show like that.”

I could write a long list of everything that’s wrong with this film. I could tell you about it’s tired plot (Evil people want to buy up Mrs Brown’s stall), I could tell you about it’s offensive stereotypes (The gay guys seem to have no character beyond shrill queens) I could tell you about all that and more, but you know what?. It’s too nice a Sunday to sit here writing a review of this “movie”. Everyone who wants to see it will see it. People who know that they don’t want to see it won’t see it with the possible exception of myself. Roasts are being cooked, pints are being served and actual, real movies are being screened. And as a douche bag played by a murderer once said “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” 0 pints out of 5. Laterz.

Mrs Brown's Boys D'Movie

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

