Cinepub


31 Days of Horror 6: The Bay (2012) by Jamie

In 1975, a film was released that made people afraid to go into the water. That movie was, of course Jaws and it is probably my favourite film of all time. Despite having watched it ever since I was a little kid, it has never made me particularly afraid of sharks or the ocean. Perhaps this due to so many repeated viewings having desensitised me or perhaps it’s due to living in England where the chances of being eaten by a shark are comparatively low. Still, I may have finally found my Jaws.

Don’t get me wrong. The Bay is not as good as Jaws but fuck me if it isn’t an effective horror movie. It manages to build tension through creative edits and managing to weave different characters story lines in an effective manner. Yes, this is a found footage movie but it might just be the best damn found footage movie. Trust me, I’m sick of them too but The Bay is different in that it manages to be somewhat original in it’s use of the format.

Rather than tell the story from one group of people’s point of view with one camera, it rather links together various different camera sources such as a budding reporter, an internet chat between a doctor and the CDC, a teenagers phone and many more to tell a cohesive story that gives you the sense of a town completely ravaged and breaking down. There is one scene where… Well, I won’t say except that it involves a n otherwise complete silence being interrupted by distant sounds that I found utterly chilling. It was incredible.

See, I’m not even gonna tell you the story since I think you should just watch it already. Seriously, it’s great. If I have one complaint it’s that the acting can be a little ropey at times, a symptom of found footage movies where people try and act realistic which never comes of a realistic. Still, I fully recommend this goddamn movie. Four pints out of five.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

